Cookies and Privacy

The University uses cookies on this website to provide the best experience possible including delivering personalised content on this website, other websites and social media. By continuing to use the site you agree to this, or your can go to our cookie policy to learn more and manage your settings.

Honorary Graduates

Each year, the University makes a number of honorary awards that recognise outstanding service to the University, to the City of Birmingham and the West Midlands, or to public or professional life nationally and internationally.

Here we take a look at our Honorary Graduates past and present, across a wide range of professional fields and industries. 

Honorary graduates - January 2020

Asha Devi

Asha Devi has over 28 years of experience in the construction industry, responsible for the development of many Birmingham projects.

Dr Joanne Fillingham

Dr Joanne Fillingham has worked in clinical and leadership roles, across primary, community and secondary care settings.

John Clemson MBE

John was awarded an Honorary Fellowship of the Royal Birmingham Conservatoire in June 2007, and an MBE in the New Year Honours List 2016. 

Ruth Cooke

Ruth Cooke has worked mostly in and with housing associations, Ruth is passionate about the importance of housing and support services. 

Full list of honorary graduates

Please see below for the complete list of our honorary graduates.

Lord Adebowale CBE
Mr Mohinder Singh Ahluwalia OBE
Mr Jamil Ahmed
Mr Murugappa A Alagappan
Dr Alberto Alessi
Professor Louis Andriessen
Professor Dame Elizabeth Anionwu DBE
Sir David Arculus
Ms Veena Bahl
Miss Ellie Baker
Honorary Alderman Stan Banting MBE JP
Mr Paul Bassi CBE DL
Mrs Sue Battle CBE
Mr Michael Beasley CBE
Mr Trevor Beattie
Mr David Belser
Ms Sallie Bennett-Jenkins QC
Ms Anita Bhalla OBE DL
Mr David Bintley CBE
Mr Paul Birch JP
Sir Harrison Birtwistle
Mr Peter Blakemore
Ms Cynthia Bower
Dame Christine Braddock DBE DL
Mr Keith Bradshaw DL
Lord Bragg of Wigton CH
Ms Jo Brand
Councillor Randal Brew OBE
Professor Sir Tim Brighouse
Mr Stephen B Bright
Mr Mark Britnell
Dr J Louise Brooke-Smith
Mrs Elisabeth Buggins CBE DL
Mr Ian Burke
Mr Patrick Burns
The Rt Hon Baroness Butler-Sloss GBE
Sir Ian Byatt
Mr Pogus Caesar
Mr Ian Callum
Mr David Carter CBE
Mr Godwin Cassar
Mr John Caudwell
Mr Peter Cheese
Dr Goh Chong Chia
Mrs Deirdre Clancy
Mr Barry Cleverdon OBE
Mr Victor Cocker CBE
Mr Jonathan Coe
Mrs Naaz Coker
Mr Matthew Collings
Ms Carol Coombes OBE
Professor David Cox OBE
The Baroness Cox of Queensbury
Mr John Crabtree OBE DL
Professor Charles Craddock CBE
Mr Jim Crace
Mr David Cragg OBE
Professor Ian Cumming OBE
Mr William R P Dalton
Mr Nick Danziger
Mr Charles Darby
Mr John Davidson OBE
Mr Christopher Dedicoat
Mrs Sylvia Denman CBE
Mr Rasshied Din
Ms Molly Dineen
Mr Tom Dixon
Mr Peter Donohoe CBE
Mr Jonathan Duck
Ms Heather du Quesnay
Professor Brian Edwards
Mr Peter Ellwood CBE
The Rt Hon Baroness Emerton DBE DL
Mr Craig Errington
Sir Reginald Eyre
Mr Adrian Fawcett
Professor Brian Ferneyhough
Professor Steve Field CBE
Sir Ranulph Fiennes
Ms Anne Fine
Her Honour Judge Elisabeth Fisher JP
Mr Adam Fowle
The Rt Hon Lord Fowler
Dame Elizabeth Fradd
Sir Christopher Frayling
Mr David Frost CBE DL
Dr Anna van der Gaag CBE 
Sir James Galway
Mr Tony Garnett
Mr Karl George MBE
Dr John Gibbons CBE
The Lord Glendonbrook CBE
Professor Heiner Goebbels
Dr Mark Goldman
Mr Antony Gormley
The Baroness Gould of Potternewton
Mr Chris Green
Professor Edward Gregson
Professor Brian Griffin
Lord Grocott of Telford
Ms Bunny Guinness
Lord Hall of Birkenhead CBE
Professor Simon Halsey CBE
Rt Hon the Lord Hattersley
Mr Peter Hay CBE
Mr Cal Henderson
Mr Darren Henley OBE
The Rt Hon the Lord Heseltine CH
Mr Andrew Higginson
Mr Peter Hindle MBE
Mr Dave Holland
Mr Albert Hong Hin Kay
Mr Elgar Howarth
Mr Kevin Howe
Mr Rob Howell
Mr John Hudson OBE DL
Mr Robert Hughes CBE
Lord Hunt of Kings Heath OBE
Mr William Hutton
Mr Tony Hyde
Mr David Hyslop OBE
Mr Jonathan Irwin
Ms Nola Ishmael OBE
Mr Fred Jarvis
Sir Simon Jenkins
Mr Peter Jenkinson OBE
Mr David Jessel
Professor Gus John
Mr Karl Johnson
Mr Alan Jones OBE
Lord Jones of Birmingham
Lord Jordan CBE
Mr Leng Jun
Mr Paul Kehoe CBE
Ms Bridget Kendall
Dr Christine Kenrick
Mr Javed Khan
Dr Gillian Klein
Dr Peter Knight CBE DL
Mr Steven Knight
Mr Martin Lamb
Lang Lang
Mr Patrick le Quement
Ms Deborah Leary OBE
Mr John Leighfield CBE
Ms Beverly Lindsay OBE OD
Ms Tasmin Little OBE
Dr Ding Yih Liu
Mr Xiao Liu
Mrs Pamela Liversidge
Mr David Lowe
Mr Jeff Lynne
Sir Michael Lyons
Ms Sarah-Jane Marsh
Dato’Nik Mohamed Mahmood
Mr John Mahoney
Dr Beverly Malone
Ms Patricia Marsh
Mr John Mathers
Mr Jim McCarthy
Mr Paul McDowell
Mr William McGrath
The Rt Rev’d Monsignor Canon J Daniel McHugh
Sir Graham Meldrum CBE OStJ
The Honourable Dennis Merchant
Mr Richard Meredith-Hardy
Mr Andrew Messenger
Mr Frank Mills
Professor Dhruva Mistry CBE
Dame Julie Moore DBE
Dame Yvonne Moores
Dr Joan Sinclair More
Dr William S More
Mr Charles Morgan
Sir Michael Morpurgo OBE
Mr David Mumford
Ms Laura Mvula
Cardinal Vincent Nichols
Mr David Nicholson CBE
Mr Richard Noble
Sir Gulam Noon MBE
Ms Erin O’Connor MBE
Mr Bruce Oldfield
Brigadier Ramis bin Juma’an bin Sibti Al Oweira
Mr Sakari Oramo OBE
Mr David Owen
Mr T R Pachamuthu
Ms Susan Parke
Mr Kirit Pathak OBE
PC Robert Pedley MBE
Baron Paul of Marylebone in the City of Westminster
Ms Rachel Pierce
Professor Andrew Pollard
Mr Jonathon Porritt OM CBE
Ms Jennie Price CBE
Mr Roger Pringle
Mr Philip Pullman CBE
Sir Simon Rattle OM CBE
Mr Adil Ray OBE
Ms Piali Ray OBE
Ms Karin Rehnqvist
Mr Roy Richardson
Ms Yana Richens OBE
Sir Peter Rigby DL
Dame Janet Ritterman DBE
Sir Ken Robinson
Rt Hon the Lord Rooker
Mr Paul Sabapathy CBE
Mr Saleh Saeed OBE
Mr Jeremy Sams
The Right Reverend Mark Santer
Dr Benedetto Saraceno
Sir Nicholas Scheele
Mr Mark Selway
The Most Rev’d & Rt Hon Dr John Sentamu
Councillor Shafique Shah
Professor Surinder Sharma
Mr Stephen Shaw
Mr Jon Silverman
Mr Brian Sims
Mr Frank Skinner
Professor Jennifer Sleep
Sir Tim Smit
Mr Alan Smith
Mr Phil Smith
Mr Roger Smith OBE
Mr Ranjit Sondhi CBE
Rear Admiral Christopher Stanford CB OStJ
Mr Alex Stephenson CBE
Sir Christopher Stone
Mr Bryan Stoten
Mr Andy Street CBE
The Rt Revd John Stroyan
Ms Gisela Stuart MP
Mr Brian Summers MBE
Mr Christopher Swan
Professor Laurie Taylor
Mr Peter Taylor
Mr Rex Tedd QC
Mr Nigel Terrington
Mr Rasik Thakrar
Mr Paul Thandi
Ms Sarah Thane CBE
Mr Geoff Thomas
Sir Mike Tomlinson CBE
Sir John Tooley
Mr John Towers
Mr Thomas Trotter
Sir Mark Tully
Mr Julian Turner
Ms Sue Turner
Mr Jonnie Turpie MBE DL
Ms Jenny Uglow OBE
The Rt Revd David Urquhart
Mr Graham Vick CBE
Mr Derek Waddington OBE JP
Mr Mark Wallinger
Dame Julie Walters DBE
Mr Gok Wan
Mr John Warburton CBE
Mr Bob Warman
Th Rt Hon. the Baroness Warsi
Mr Jonathan Watkins
Dr Neslyn Watson-Druée CBE
Dr Timothy Watts DL
Ms Gillian Wearing CBE
Ms Jeanette Webber
Bishop Derek Webley MBE DL
Dame Gillian Weir DBE
Ms Judith Weir CBE
Mr Brett Wigdortz OBE
Mr Clive Wilkinson
Ms Toyah Willcox
Mr Anthony Wilson
Ms Dorothy Wilson
Mr James Wilson
Professor Sir David Winkley
Professor Robert Winston
Ms Anne Wood CBE
Mr John Woodward OBE
Mr Barry Wordsworth
Mr Kuldip Singh Wouhra MBE
Mr Doug Wright DL
Ms Salma Yaqoob
Mr W Wing Yip OBE
Mr Benjamin Zephaniah
Sir Bernard Zissman