Coronavirus statistics

The University is continuing to record Covid-19 cases amongst students and staff to ensure that the correct support is in place for those who have to isolate because of a positive test. The statistics on this page are updated on Monday each week.

With the deployment of Covid-19 vaccinations, our community is better protected against serious illness caused by Covid-19. However, the University is committed to tracking positive cases amongst our staff and student community through our Notify system. The distribution of home test kits from University locations is supporting twice weekly testing for all those coming onto campus regularly.

The numbers below indicate the new weekly Covid-19 cases which have been reported to Birmingham City University by members of staff and students. The numbers reflect the week the case was reported to us and not necessarily the week the positive test was recorded, or the point at which symptoms first began.

Weekly data will be updated every Monday, with the data broken down by staff cases on campus and student cases. We have indicated student cases where that student has been onto campus or involved in university activity, and those who have remained off-campus for a period of at least 48 hours since their symptoms developed.

This data is for:

  • Birmingham City University students (approx. 28,000)
  • Birmingham City University staff (approx. 4,000)

From Monday 15 November to Sunday 21 November 2021, we recorded 34 positive cases, 20 of which have been on campus.

DateStaff on-campusStudents on-campusStudents off-campus
15 November to Sunday 21 November 4

16

14

* Mass testing operating on campus

Please note: we may adjust previously released weekly figures as further information emerges on each reported case. This could happen, for example, to allow us to correct double counting of a single case which has been reported to us multiple times.

Previous weekly data
DateStaff on-campusStudents on-campusStudents off-campusTotal
In light of the relaxation of national restrictions in July 2021, and with fewer students on campus during the summer months, the University ceased publishing weekly statistics. Updates resumed with the start of the academic year in September 2021.
8 November to 14 November 9 4 17 30
1 November to  7 November 3 13 19 35
25 October to 31 October 6 12 14 32
Monday 18 October to Sunday 24 October 6 9 19 34
Monday 11 October to Sunday 17 October 3 20 6 29
Monday 4 October to Sunday 10 October 5 13 23 41
Monday 27 September to Sunday 3 October 3 21 18 42
Monday 20 September to Sunday 26 September  3 23 22 48
Monday 13 September to Sunday 19 September 1 3 6 10
Monday 6 September to 12 September  0 4 15 19
Monday 5 July to 11 July* 0 1 9 10
Monday 28 June to 4 July* 0 1 12 13
Monday 21 June to Sunday 27 June* 2 3 10 15
Monday 14 June to Sunday 20 June* 1 3 9 13
Monday 31 May to Sunday 6 June* 0 1 1 2
Monday 24 May to Sunday 31 May* 0 0 1 1
Monday 17 May to Sunday 23 May* 0 1 1 2
Monday 10 May to Sunday 16 May* 0 0 1 1
Monday 3 May to Sunday 9 May* 0 0 0 0
Monday 26 April to Sunday 2 May* 1 0 2 3
Monday 19 April to Sunday 25 April* 0 0 2 2
Monday 12 April to Sunday 18 April* 0 0 1 1
Monday 5 April to Sunday 11 April* 0 0 1 1
Monday 29 March to Sunday 4 April* 0 0 1 1
Monday 22 March to Sunday 28 March* 0 0 5 5
Monday 15 March to Sunday 21 March* 0 0 2 2
Monday 8 March to Sunday 14 March* 0 0 5 5
Monday 1 March to Sunday 7 March* 0 1 5 6
Monday 22 February to Sunday 28 February* 1 1 10 12
Monday 15 February to Sunday 21 February* 1 1 9 11
Monday 8 February to Sunday 14 February* 1 1 21 23
Monday 1 February to Sunday 7 February* 3 0 21 24
Monday 25 January to Sunday 31 January* 2 0 27 29
Monday 18 January to Sunday 24 January* 1 0 45 46
Monday 11 January to Sunday 17 January* 0 0 37 37
Monday 4 January to Sunday 10 January* 0 0 34 34
Monday 28 December to Sunday 3 January 0 0 13 13
Monday 21 December to Sunday 27 December 0 0 10 10
Monday 14 December to Sunday 20 December 2 0 14 16
Monday 7 December to Sunday 13 December* 2 3 17 22
Monday 30 November to Sunday 6 December* 1 3 20 24
Monday 23 November to Sunday 29 November 0 4 32 36
Monday 16 November to Sunday 22 November 2 10 37 49
Monday 9 November to Sunday 15 November 4 19 41 64
Monday 2 November to Sunday 8 November 2 9 45 56
Monday 26 October to Sunday 1 November 3 14 55 72
Monday 19 October to Sunday 25 October 4 26 54 84
Monday 12 October to Sunday 18 October 2 34 74 110
Monday 5 October to Sunday 11 October 0 7 84 91
Monday 28 to Sunday 4 October 1 19 59 79
Monday 21 to Sunday 27 September 1 12 6 19
Monday 14 to Sunday 20 September 1 0 4 5

* Mass testing operating on campus

How does a staff member or student tell us about a positive test?

Staff and students tell us about a positive test result, or symptoms of Covid-19 that they are experiencing, through our Notify system.

What happens next?

When we receive a report through our Notify system, a member of our Mental Health & Wellbeing Team (or HR team for staff cases) contacts the affected student to ensure they have all the support they need. This team provides a contact tracing service, which ensures that anyone who has been in close contact with the individual is contacted.

To ensure the safety of others, the affected individual will be asked to immediately self-isolate. If their test result is positive they’ll need to remain in isolation for 10 days, and members of their household (including flatmates if living away from home) will need to isolate for 14 days. If their test result is negative there is no need to continue isolating.

How are we supporting students who are self-isolating? 

Our Mental Health & Wellbeing Team is supporting students who are self-isolating, particularly those who are living in university accommodation away from their family home. This support includes helping to organise food and other essential deliveries for those in University accommodation, as well as directing individuals to NHS services for further information and guidance.

Support for students who are self-isolating

What should a staff member or student do if they develop symptoms? 

All staff and students should follow BCU’s Test and Trace procedure. If an individual is at home when they first experience symptoms, they should stay there and not come onto campus. If they are on campus, they should make sure they maintain two metre social distancing, wear a face covering, apply hand gel and immediately go home. Individuals should tell their course leader or line manager, request a test from the NHS as soon as possible and report their symptoms using the Notify system.

For further information on BCU’s Test and Trace process please visit: https://www.bcu.ac.uk/student-info/preparing-for-semester-one/news/test-and-trace