Cookies and Privacy

The University uses cookies on this website to provide the best experience possible including delivering personalised content on this website, other websites and social media. By continuing to use the site you agree to this, or your can go to our cookie policy to learn more and manage your settings.

Extra Mile Awards 2017/18

We were thrilled to welcome staff and students to the Royal Birmingham Conservatoire on Thursday 3 May to celebrate their achievements at the Extra Mile Awards 2017/18. The annual event is run in partnership with Birmingham City University Students’ Union and recognises the dedication of our community.

Faculty of Business, Law and Social Sciences (BLSS) student, Rachel Smyth,  walked away with the University's flagship student award, while CDT Induction Hack Team based within Computer, based within Computer, Engineering and the Built Environment (CEBE) took home the staff accolade.

Other award winners from the night, include Emma McDonald (BLSS), who was named Personal Tutor of the Year, Harriet Frayling from Art Design and Music (ADM) as Inspirational Student of the Year and Sharon Atkinson  from our Student Affairs Team, who won the Behind the Scenes Staff of the Year category.

We’d like to say a huge thank you to everyone who came along to show their support and celebrate with their friends and colleagues. You can find a full list of our Winners and Highly Commended below.

Vice-Chancellor and Students’ Union President’s Student Award

Winner: Rachel Smyth, BLSS

Vice-Chancellor and Students’ Union President’s Staff Award

Winner: CDT Induction Hack Team, CEBE

Inspirational Student of the Year 

Winner: Harriet Frayling, ADM

Highly Commended: Deborah Brennan, HELS

Behind the Scenes Staff of the Year 

Winner: Sharon Atkinson, Student Affairs

Highly Commended: Bernadette O'Brien, HELS

Engaging and Inspiring Teacher of the Year 

Winner: Emma Neale, BLSS

Highly Commended: Mohammed Rahman, BLSS

Enterprising Student of the Year 

Winner: Kerry Devlin, BLSS

Highly Commended: Darrel Blake, BLSS

Personal Tutor of the Year 

Winner: Emma McDonald, BLSS

Highly Commended: Gary Hazeldine, BLSS

Researcher of the Year 

Winner: Islam Issa, ADM

Highly Commended: John Mercer, ADM

Student Representative of the Year 

Winner: MD Irfan, BLSS

Highly Commended: Kathy-Zoe Baira, BLSS

Student Volunteer of the Year 

Winner: Rachel Smyth, BLSS

Highly Commended: Shannon Barnard, BLSS

Team of the Year 

Winner: CDT Induction Hack Team, CEBE

Highly Commended: BLSS Student Success Advisers, BLSS