Cookies and Privacy

The University uses cookies on this website to provide the best experience possible including delivering personalised content on this website, other websites and social media. By continuing to use the site you agree to this, or your can go to our cookie policy to learn more and manage your settings.

Regional, Labour, and Political Economy

Our cluster conducts a wide range of research, mainly focusing on: regional, labour and political economic issues. For example, analysis of labour productivity with a regional and industrial decomposition, and forecasted skills demand and supply in labour markets. Focusing on topics of political economy, the analysis of income distribution, and the political economy of working time.

regional labour header

We specialise in computable general equilibrium (CGE) models and econometric analysis focusing on regional models, developing economics, economic geography, international economics and trade, business and government relationship and management and employee relations.

The aim of the cluster is to contribute in the application of existing models, and develop new approaches and methodological advances. Research conducted within the cluster is both theoretical and empirical. The members of the cluster have a great variety of research and professional backgrounds.

The cluster aspires to provide insight and practical applicable advice in a direction that is based on research evidence.

Research areas

  • Labour productivity, working hours and income distribution
  • Households and time use
  • Employee owned organisations
  • Labour economics for skills demand and supply
  • Management & Employee Relations
  • The political economy of income distribution
  • Political economy
  • Economic growth, trade and development
  • Economic geography
  • Business and government relationship
  • Regional computable general equilibrium (CGE) models


Abdul-Razak Alhassan
Aineias Gkikas
David Hearne
Stefania Paladini
Eleni Papagiannaki
Bruce Philp
Alexandros Psychogios
Krish Saha
Danilo Spinola
Erez Yerushalmi