Board of Governors

The Board of Governors is the University’s governing body and it meets at least four times per year. The Board is responsible for:

  • The determination of the educational character and mission of the University, and for oversight of its activities.
  • The effective and efficient use of resources, the solvency of the institution and the Corporation, and for safeguarding their assets.
  • Approving annual estimates of income and expenditure.
  • The appointment, assignment, grading, appraisal, suspension, dismissal and determination of the pay and conditions of service of the Principal, the Clerk and holders of such other senior posts as the Board of Governors may determine.
  • Setting a framework for the pay and conditions of all other staff.

Members of the Board provide the University with information relating to their commercial interests and any other charities of which they are a trustee. This is held on Registers maintained by the University Secretary.

Register of Interests

Register of Trusteeships

The Board of Governors in 2017/18 are:

Mark Hopton (Independent Member)

Deputy Chairman
Joe Kelly (Independent Member)

Ex-officio Member
Professor Philip Plowden (Vice-Chancellor)

Independent Members

Sally Beavan
Dr Louise Brooke-Smith
Ian Burke
Glenn Howells
Andrew Jowett
Jenny Ladbrooke
Parmjit Singh
Rt Hon Gisela Stuart

Co-opted Members

Professor Graham Henderson CBE 
Tracy Westall

Student Governors
Sahib Singh
Jemma Ellis

Staff Governors
Mohammed Ayaz (General Staff Representative)
Professor Andrew Kulman (Teaching Staff Representative)

Clerk to the Board of Governors

Miss Karen Stephenson LLB, Solicitor, MA
University Secretary