Cookies and Privacy

The University uses cookies on this website to provide the best experience possible including delivering personalised content on this website, other websites and social media. By continuing to use the site you agree to this, or your can go to our cookie policy to learn more and manage your settings.


Head of Woodwind: Jenni Phillips
Associate Head of WoodwindDouglas Mitchell
First Study Administrator:
Head of Piano Accompaniment in Wind and Brass Studies: Jo Sealey

Orchestral Woodwind


Flute: Emily Beynon
Oboe: Nicholas Daniel
Clarinet: Chris Richards
Bassoon: Sarah Burnett 
Chamber Music: Jonathan Kelly

Saxophone: Kyle Horch
Multi-Instrumentalist Consultant: Paul Saunders

Recorder: Prof Dan Laurin

Baroque and Classical Flute: Annabel Knight
Baroque and Classical Oboe: Gail Hennessy
Classical Clarinet: Prof Michael Harris
Baroque Bassoon: Andy Watts

Andrew Lane

Baroque Flute
Annabel Knight

Cor anglais
Anna Cooper

Baroque and Classical Oboe
Gail Hennessy

E Flat Clarinet
Joanna Patton
Anna Hashimoto

Bass Clarinet
Prof Michael Harris
Mark O'Brien

Classical Clarinet
Prof Michael Harris

Nikolaj Henriques
Gareth Twigg

Bassoon Reedmaking Tutor
Alan Pendlebury

Margaret Cookhorn
Gareth Twigg

Baroque Bassoon
Andy Watts


Head of Recorder: Annabel Knight

Recorder Tutors
Annabel Knight
Chris Orton


Head of Saxophone: Naomi Sullivan

Recent Masterclasses and Workshops

Dan Laurin (Department Consultant)
Piers Adams
Maria Martinez Ayerza
Susannah Borsch
Rachel Brown
Lisete da Silva
Anna Stegmann and Hester Groenleer (The Royal Wind Music)
Tim Cranmore (Recorder Maintenance)

Clair-obscur Quartet
Vincent David
Koen Dries
Paul Dunmall
Daniel Gauthier
John Harle
Hans de Jong
Lynn Klock
Lars Mlekusch
Claus Olsen
Masahito Sugihara
Johannes Thorell