Conservatoire Composition Cluster

Research within the Conservatoire Composition Cluster, headed jointly by Professor Joe Cutler and Professor Michael Wolters, covers a wide aesthetic and performative spectrum, from score-based and improvisational work through to advanced computer-based research into the live interaction of digital technologies with human performers.

Although the research underpinning compositional practice is individual and personalised and the Conservatoire’s composition staff positively celebrate and encourage diversity of expression, the cluster nevertheless enjoys a strongly bond of artistic endeavour.

Staff share a desire to challenge traditional institutional preconceptions regarding the nature, content and presentation of new music, especially with respect to experimental venues, non-elite content, mixed-media creativity and the cultivation of new audiences. Rather, they explore, examine and document the potential, difference and impact of work which is realised through alternative and more independently mediated creative processes.

Key research concerns and issues include:

  • Alternatives to the traditional concert hall
  • Composer-led collectives
  • The composer as performer
  • Queerness and Othering
  • Interdisciplinary composition
  • Composition with minimal means
  • Control of dissemination of our works, for example, through our own label: Birmingham Record Company
  • Community engagement as artistic practice
  • Conceptual approaches
Key staff

For other composition staff, see the Teaching staff tab.

PhD Students and Awards (2014-)
  • Khyam Allami (M4C funded)
  • Victoria Benito
  • Daniel Blanco Albert (M4C funded)
  • Susan Cannon
  • Trish Clowes
  • Simon Cummings
  • Fang Fang
  • Francesca Fargion (M4C funded)
  • Mike Fletcher
  • Bobbie-Jane Gardner
  • Andrea Granitzio
  • Patrick Giguère
  • Edmund Hunt
  • Andy Ingamells (M4C funded)
  • Chloe Knibbs (M4C funded)
  • Hans Koller
  • Joanna Lee
  • Christopher Long
  • James McIlwrath (M4C funded)
  • Jimena Maldonado
  • Melinda Maxwell
  • Paul Norman (M4C funded)
  • Tim Perkins
  • Percy Pursglove
  • Susannah Self
  • Sayyid Shafiee
  • Richard Stenton
  • Stuart Stevens
  • Benjamin Tassie (M4C funded)
  • Paul Taylor
  • Aidan Teplitzky (M4C funded)
  • Andrew Thomas
  • Andrew Toovey (M4C funded)
  • Sam Underwood (M4C funded)
  • Maya Verlaak (M4C funded)
  • Riaan Vosloo
  • Graham Waterhouse
  • Adeline Wong
  • Soul (Yfat) Zisso