Congratulations to Brass student Carl Davis

Fourth-year trombone student Carl Davis

RBC’s annual Brass Prize competition is open to all second-year and above Brass students. This year, there were 13 entrants, and five finalists were selected after a competitive preliminary round. 

The five finalists were: Sam Franks (trombone), Anabel Voigt (tenor horn), Jhih-Yi Chang (French horn), Carl Davis (trombone) and Morgan Hart (tuba).

The competition final took place in the Bradshaw Hall on Monday 8 April, and all five soloists performed with accompanist Jo Sealey.  The competition adjudicator was Tim Thorpe, who is Principal Horn of the BBC National Orchestra of Wales.

Tim gave the prize to fourth-year trombone student Carl Davis, who wowed the audience with his rendition of Florian Magnus Maier’s ‘Slipstream’ for trombone and loop station. He also delivered a sensitive performance of Ropartz’s ‘Piece in EbMinor’, before finishing his programme with Arthur Pryor’s virtuosic ‘Thoughts of Love’.

RBC Head of Brass Ed Jones said: “Huge congratulations to Carl on winning this year’s RBC Brass Prize. He delivered his eclectic programme with real virtuosity and professionalism.  The level of performance during the final was incredibly high, and all five finalists should be proud of their efforts.”

Pictured: (l-r) Sam Franks, Jhih-Yi Chang, Morgan Hart, Anabel Voigt, Carl Davis and adjudicator Tim Thorpe.

Return to the previous page.