Enhancing your employability

During your studies you will be encouraged to apply for awards, accolades, scholarships and placements, and our students have a great track record of prize-winning success.

Successes include the prestigious Women in Property Awards, which have previously been won by our students Lise-Ann Brennan (2011) and Anjna Farmer (2009).

There are plenty of opportunities to achieve recognition and rewards for your success

Here are just a few examples:

The £150 Emma Jessie Phipps Award is given to the most outstanding student of the year

The Louisa Ann Ryland Travel Scholarship is available to undergraduate and postgraduate students, who can win a prize of up to £5,000

The George Jackson Travel Bursary is awarded to an outstanding student submitting a travel proposal.

In 2012, finalist Lorena Sterkaj’s work received high praise from the judges as being ‘motivational’ and ‘inspiring’.

Another success was Saiman Miah, a student who created a commemorative £5 coin for the London 2012 Olympics. 

Peter Jenkins and Andrew Hassall (2011) were both shortlisted for RIBA President Silver Medal Awards – shortlisting involves making the final 18 from 126 international entries. 

Winners of the Louisa Ann Ryland Travel Scholarship include Louisa Hogg and Landscape Architecture student Iain Hainsworth (2011).  

Chloe Frost

Chloe Frost received The Marion Mackay Award 2014 Award for outstanding engagement with craftsmanship.

Daisy Walker

Daisy Walker received the Tektura Innovation Award for Wallcovering, 2014.