Rebecca Clarke: A Woman’s Impression - Fuyao Li (viola)

Rebecca Clarke: A Woman’s Impression - Fuyao Li (viola)
Date and time
21 Mar 2023 (11:05am - 12:00pm)

The Bradshaw Hall, Royal Birmingham Conservatoire

Royal Birmingham Conservatoire, 200 Jennens Road, B4 7XR


£8 (£6)

Booking Information

Wheelchair users are entitled to concessionary priced tickets with a complimentary companion seat.

Guide dogs are welcome at Royal Birmingham Conservatoire venues. If you wish to bring a Guide Dog or wheelchair, please let the Events Office know by calling 0121 331 5909.

Fuyao Li playing viola in black tie against black background

Fuyao Li viola

Ricardo Brown Roger violin
Jake Ryan cello
Charles Matthews piano

Rebecca Clarke (1886-1979)
Lullaby (1909)
Chinese Puzzle
Dumka (Duo Concertante for Violin and Viola,with Piano)
Two Pieces for Viola and Cello
Sonata for Viola and Piano

This concert will present a series of chamber music works by Rebecca Clarke, a renowned woman composer from a musical family and one of the most important British composers of the interwar years.

Her Sonata for Viola and Piano shows how Clarke moved into new territories from the expected sonata form, by using two similar themes and recollection, defining the preceding introduction and main theme in an unexpected way.

It was not believed at the time, that a woman could write such astounding pieces of music, which brings the impressionism of Debussy and effect of wars as seen in the military motifs. This concert will lead the audience to explore the stories behind presented pieces and how the life was for one of the first female professional orchestral players.