BCMG: The American Dream
Date and time
20 Nov 2022 (5:00pm)

The Bradshaw Hall, Royal Birmingham Conservatoire

Royal Birmingham Conservatoire, 200 Jennens Road, B4 7XR


£15, £5 students

BCMG The American Dream Illustration

Anna Dennis soprano
Paul Carey Jones baritone
Stephan Meier conductor

George Lewis Breaking (2021) - Sound Investment co-commission, UK premiere supported by Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation
Julian Anderson Tombeau de Edgar Allen Poe (2018) - Sound Investment commission
Julian Anderson Nunca vi Granada (2022) - World première, Sound Investment commission
Elliottt Carter What Are Years for soprano and chamber ensemble (2009) - Five Poems of Marianne Moore
Elliott Carter The American Sublime (2011) for baritone and ensemble, texts by Wallace Stevens UK première, supported by the Amphion Foundation
Katherine Balch
New Geometry (2015)

BCMG presents three great American composers, and one of our favourite locals, with music discussing the American Dream, the media built around it, and in turn a failed utopia.

'The American Dream', coined in the 1930s, was the belief that anyone, regardless of background, can be a limitless success. In reality, this idea fast became a way for companies to sell products to hopefuls who were desperate for the unattainable lifestyle promised to them.

Hear the new piece Breaking by George Lewis where he renders long exposure photography into music, inspired by renowned North American photographer and artist Stan Douglas. Stan Douglas’s work examines our modern world and the obsolete dreams and technologies that surround us.

Art inspires art, and at BCMG we believe in combining our senses for new experiences, expect to see a very special merchandise drop around this wonderful event.

Support Julian Anderson’s or George Lewis’s new pieces to get special benefits surrounding this concert.