Cookies and Privacy

The University uses cookies on this website to provide the best experience possible including delivering personalised content on this website, other websites and social media. By continuing to use the site you agree to this, or your can go to our cookie policy to learn more and manage your settings.

The Birmingham Philharmonic Prize

The Birmingham Philharmonic Concerto Prize

Prizes and Competitions Series

Date and time
24 Apr 2016 (3:00pm - 5:00pm)
To be announced.

£15 (£12)
(£5 students and children under 16)
(£32 family ticket; 2 adults and 2 children)
Free to BCU students

Booking Information

Book now

Conductor Michael Seal

Michael Collie compere
Michael Webb clarinet
Yuting Guo piano
Yu-Cheng Chen marimba

John Foulds Tone Poem ‘April – England’ Op.48 No.1
Gerald Finzi Clarinet Concerto Op.31 (Michael Webb)
Franz Liszt Piano Concerto No.1 in E flat major (Yuting Guo)
Keiko Abe Prism Rhapsody - A Concerto for Marimba and Orchestra (Yu-Cheng Chen)
Hector Berlioz ‘Les Francs-Juges’ (played whilst the adjudicator and the Trustees retire to make their decision)

The Birmingham Philharmonic Orchestra accompanies the performances of three of the most promising students from Birmingham Conservatoire in the competition final for this prestigious prize, founded (and originally named) in honour of former leader and conductor, David Ludlow, and adjudicated by Julian Lloyd Webber. Former Ludlow Philharmonic Prize winners include today's conductor Michael Seal.

Forthcoming events in Prizes and Competitions Series

Forthcoming dates will be announced soon.