Open Day - June 2017

Open Days

Saturday 24 March, 9am – 3pm

Book your place

Awards and accolades


Staff member receives lifetime achievement honour.

A member of staff has been awarded a Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of his exceptional work. Steve Bradley, Director of Campus Management and Services, was personally chosen to receive the award by the Executive Committee of the Association of College and University Business Officers (CUBO).

A number of University staff have received prestigious fellowships from the Higher Education Academy (HEA).

Faculty: Faculty of Arts, Design and Media
Professor David Roberts (pictured) has been awarded a National Teaching Fellowship, whilst Jo Hill, Louise Khalid and Alison Turnbull have also been named as Senior Teaching Fellows. Professor Roberts commented: "For every National Teaching Fellow there are ten exceptional tutors who have never even thought of applying, so my aim now is to encourage colleagues to put themselves forward too."

A member of staff has been honoured by an American university in recognition of his collaborative work.

Professor Stuart Brand has been awarded an Honorary Doctorate in Pedagogy by Northwest Missouri State University, who praised him for his “unwavering dedication to higher education.” Professor Brand said: “I am honoured and delighted to accept this is such a positive sign of the value that colleagues at Northwest Missouri State University place on our work together.”

A Professor from the School of English has been recognised for his outstanding academic work.

School: School of English
Professor Philip Smallwood, Emeritus Professor of English, has been awarded a prestigious research fellowship by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.


Institute of Leadership and Management (ILM) Accreditations

Staff from across the University have received qualifications from the Institute of Leadership and Management (ILM). To date, 119 members of staff have enrolled and are working towards the ILM national accreditation standard.

Lecturer receives esteemed award

School: School of Social Sciences
An academic from the School of Social Sciences has earned a prestigious award in recognition of her world-class research. Lecturer in Cognitive Psychology Dr Eirini Mavritsaki has been awarded the British Psychological Society’s Cognitive Psychology Prize for 2012.

Higher Education Academy Fellowships

School: School of Social Sciences
Two academics from the University are awarded fellowships from the Higher Education Academy. Dr Stuart Brand and Professor David Wilson (pictured) have both been awarded National Teaching Fellowships in recognition of their sector-leading work.

Professor Wilson is an expert in the field of criminology and has pioneered a number of initiatives to help students link academic theory with the actual practice of crime and punishment. Dr Brand leads the University’s Centre for Excellence in Learning and Teaching (CELT) and is responsible for driving the University’s focus on partnership work between staff and students.

University Professors celebrate publishing success

School: Birmingham City Business School
Two Professors from Birmingham City Business School receive professional recognition for their research relating to health and safety management systems. Professor David Edwards (pictured) and Professor Gary Holt from the University’s Centre for Business, Innovation and Enterprise (CBIE) are chosen as a Highly Commended Award Winner at the Emerald Literati Network Awards for their academic paper – along with co-authors Dr Riaz from the National University of Science and Technology in Pakistan and Professor Thorpe from Loughborough University .


Award for excellence

School: Birmingham City Business School
Gary Holt, Professor of Innovation in Machinery Management (Centre for Business Innovation and Enterprise), receives a prestigious award at the Emerald Literati Network Awards for Excellence 2011. The accolade is awarded for Professor Holt’s paper on construction business procurement, which looks at research impact in this field over the last two decades.